New Challenges


As I am writing this post I thought of titleing it “Discourage” but my positive attitude took over.

My son Jason and I are training for another triathlon and we have decided we needed to be better swimmers after our first triathlon. We both placed very well in our age range and we want to place better. For that we need to work our weakness: Swimming!

Well, Jason joined the Jordan high school swim team and has made remarkable progress and I have been training at the pool also.

Tonight was an humbling experience, Jason said to really get into a olympic triathlon, I needed to learn “freestyle”.

We went to my pool at Homestead tonight and he taught me breathing, and the freestyle stoke.

I warmed up and was feeling great. I have been swimming for the past month and half and have been building endurance.

After my 100 meters warm-up , we started by taking a board and kicking the feet for another 100 meters..that was tough in itself. It was hard to stay really straight.

Then the freestyle stoke killed me, really! I was barely able to take a breath every two strokes! I stopped twice in 50 meters, I swallow more water than I ever wanted!

After a 45 minutes workout , I was discouradge and thought I was crazy to want to take on this challenge! I actually told myself I was maybe too old for that…

Jason told me I needed to practice the same thing for the next three weeks…Don’t even want to think about doing this again tomorrow and yet I am sure you will found me at 5h30am at the Homestead Pool.

Those photos are photos of Jason at the first swim meet 2 weeks ago.

 

Jordan High School First Swim MeetJordan High School First Swim MeetJordan High School First Swim MeetJordan High School First Swim MeetNovember_2012_Swim_meet_0274Jordan High School First Swim MeetJordan High School First Swim MeetJordan High School First Swim Meet

1 Comment

  1. Super Jason, and you can do it Katia. Like the tango (in a way) breathing in the freestyle stroke is rhythm and timing.

Leave a Reply

